An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Press Release | Jan. 26, 2024

PHOTO RELEASE: Greater Charleston designated an official Coast Guard Community

PADET Jacksonville - Office: 904-714-7606 / After Hours: 786-393-4138

Editor's Note: Click here to download PADET Jacksonville imagery.

CHARLESTON, S.C. — A ceremony designating Greater Charleston as an official Coast Guard community was held Friday at the South Carolina Ports Cruise Terminal in Charleston. 

During the ceremony, Charleston County Council Chairman Herbert Sass III received the designation from Adm. Linda L. Fagan, Commandant of the Coast Guard, on behalf of the Tri-County Area designating Greater Charleston as an official Coast Guard community. 

The Tri-County Area is comprised of three counties: Berkeley, Charleston and Dorchester.

Coast Guard members from surrounding Charleston based units and cutters joined numerous state and local partner agencies for the official ceremony.

“The Coast Guard proudly announces the Greater Charleston region’s prestigious designation as a Coast Guard Community,” said Capt. Eric Jones, Coast Guard Base Charleston Commanding Officer. “The Coast Guard sentinels in the Charleston area are honored to be in service to a community that wholeheartedly cherishes and supports its military personnel.”

Established by Congress in 1998, a Coast Guard Community is an honorary designation recognizing communities’ special efforts to celebrate the service and sacrifice of Coast Guard men and women.

This honor, bestowed by the Commandant of the Coast Guard with approval from Congress, recognizes Greater Charleston’s longstanding efforts to embrace Coast Guard men, women, and families stationed in area. The region’s efforts illustrate a longstanding and enduring relationship, with an emphasis on considerations the community has made, for the members of the Coast Guard family. 

“The Coast Guard has had a major economic and community impact in Charleston, and we are excited to accept this designation and committed to continuing to enhance our relationship as the Coast Guard grows its base of operations,” said Charleston County Council Chairman Herbert Sass III.

The Coast Guard footprint in Charleston includes eight major commands; Coast Guard Base Charleston, Coast Guard Sector Charleston, and the Maritime Law Enforcement Academy, as well as numerous tenant commands and personnel in supporting roles throughout the region.

The Coast Guard is a seagoing service; Charleston is the homeport of four Legend-class cutters, the Hamilton (WMSL 753), James (WMSL 754), Stone (WMSL 758) and Calhoun (WMSL 759). The Coast Guard Cutter Friedman (WMSL 760), the eleventh Legend-class cutter, is currently under construction and will be homeported in Charleston. Additionally, the cutters Willow (WLB 202), Anvil (WLIC 75301) and Kingfisher (WPB 87322) are homeported here. 

More information about Coast Guard communities can be found here.

For breaking news, follow us on X (formerly Twitter). For additional information, find us on Facebook and Instagram.